Sleep? Who has time for sleep?

“There are never enough hours in the day.”

This is a statement that I am sure we have all heard many times.  Personally, I used this statement religiously in college when I waited until the night before a test to start studying.  Or, when I started working a “big girl” job and was away from home most of the day.  It has always been a struggle to try and fit in cleaning, cooking, laundry and running during the few free hours in the evening.  Plus, I was grumpy if I did not get at least eight hours of sleep every night.  My husband can contest to that.  He would often gibe at me, “If you are this grumpy only getting seven hours of sleep, how are you going to handle having a baby.”  Ahhh…. I took everything for granted in my kid free days.

In my kid free days, I would roll out of bed around six in the morning.  I had plenty of time to shower, drink coffee, get ready, drink coffee, make breakfast, drink coffee and check facebook while drinking coffee.  After work, I could squeeze in a four to five mile run, make dinner, watch my favorite T.V. shows and catch up on chores.  Looking back, life seemed so simple then.  However, I remember that I consistently felt stressed about the daunting list of tasks.

Now, that dreaded beeping sound starts at 5:15 in the morning.  Three snooze buttons later, I stumble out of the covers around 5:30 and the race against the clock starts.  The race that happnes every morning, Monday through Friday, consists of can I get ready for work before Little Man wakes up?  There are mornings I lose before I even make it out of bed.  Some mornings the crying sound echoes through the baby monitor five minutes before my alarm is set to go off.  On these mornings, I stumble to the shower and let my husband handle baby duties at 5:10 in the morning.  It is damn near impossible to run after a 10 month old (who is learning to walk) with an eye lash curler attached to one eye.  On a normal morning, Little Man wakes up around 6:30, which gives me one hour to get completely ready for work in the dark (as to not wake my sleeping husband) with a half-awake brain.  

Notice from my pre-kid days how much leisure time I had to enjoy a nice cup of coffee in the morning?  In today’s hectic morning routine, I am lucky to get half a cup down before I need to head out the door.  As I was cleaning the coffee maker one morning, I yelled at my husband “I now understand why so many people drink Starbucks; I do not have time for this!”  In all actuality, it takes five minutes to clean the coffee maker, but with my race against the clock, those are five precious minutes I could use surfing facebook!  Fortunately, my husband understands my obsession with coffee and made a cute coffee travel mug complete with pictures of our family.  Coffee manages to stay toasty warm until I can enjoy it on my trek into work. 

After I make it home from a long day at work, there are the countless chores that need to be completed.  If I could hire a nanny to just do laundry, clean the kitchen and bathrooms, I would be in heaven.  The internal battle of should I clean the house or play with little man spurs up every night.  I always have good intentions to conquer the list once he goes to sleep, but there are nights that the couch is just too comfy.  These are the nights that my wonderful husband tries to help out around the house.  For example, last week he started laundry for me by putting every bath towel that we own in the washer.  It never made it from the washer to the dryer that night.  Trying to dry myself off, in the dark, while half-awake is not simple. 

Somewhere between 8:30 and 10pm, I manage to make my way back to the bedroom and relax in a mixture of a fluffy comforter with clouds of pillow.  Do not be fooled by the 8:30 time.  If I do make it that far at 8:30, I have escaped whatever sporting event that has taken over the big T.V. in the living room to catch up on countless of hours of my favorite T.V. shows.  Eventually, I will drift off into dreamland for a few hours before Missy claims my legs as her pillow or I hear a cough drift through the baby monitor.  At this point, I will glance at the green numbers and calculate how many more hours I can squeeze in before the dreaded beeping starts over again.  If anybody deserved to have more hours in the day, it would be working parents with small kids! 

Leave a Reply

